Home > Assignments > Your Mobile Blog! Assignment and links

Your Mobile Blog! Assignment and links

It’s important to start thinking of your phone as a tool on which you can report the world. So we’re going to become mobile reporters, using the form of a single-subject blog. What’s that? Here’s an example, which happens to be mine:

Scenes from a Commute: a photo blog documenting the daily commute from home to downtown through two photos: one for Inbound commuting and one for Outbound.

Simple, right? A photo, a caption, tightly focused around a single idea. Yours should do something similar. It doesn’t have to be a photo blog–it could be text-only, or video-based, or really anything you can do with your phone. But it DOES need to be a single subject, and that subject should lend itself to a mobile device.

You’ll use the CMS Posterous for your blog. One reason for that is that it’s so easy. You just send an e-mail to post@posterous.com, and you’re set. Sure, you can tweak things from their web interface, but you don’t have to. Drop an e-mail from your phone, and you’re a mobile blogger.

Think of your topic, get set up and then please paste a link to your new mobile blog in the comments of this post. Give a quick two-sentence description of what its topic is. It should be a single subject that will engage both you and an audience. You will receive feedback on this initial idea and your first couple weeks of posts.

Categories: Assignments
  1. February 1, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Here I have included my posterous. I had a difficult time posting from my new iphone3GS at first but I figured it out.

    The site is an outlet for amateur art my friends partake in. Most of them are communication majors or don’t even go to school at all. They have no trained skill with short stories or painting or any of the other mediums I will share through the site.

    A larger focus of the site may be to encourage any viewers to take part in expression whether they have the skill or wherewithal to do such things.

  2. February 2, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Ok. My posterous is http://aprilanh.posterous.com/ and the theme of my site is called “Awaiting Summertime Chicago!.” It feels like a very appropriate topic for this time as of now. What my site will include is various pictures of changes in the weather, flowers blooming and leaves growing, and what else includes hints of summertime like shopping and seeing the mannequins in bikini’s and short shorts!

  3. February 2, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    My Posterous: http://mobilemonique.posterous.com/

    My topic is store windows around Chicago. For Christmas I received a copy of Confessions of a Window Dresser by Simon Doonan, formerly a window dresser and now the creative director of Barneys New York. I have always loved shop windows but after reading this I realized how much thought goes into them and decided that they would be the perfect thing to chronicle on my blog.

  4. RJ Roxas
    February 2, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    My blog: http://rjroxas.posterous.com/

    I walk the same route from the train station to school every day, but each day is something unique that I see. My focus will be to capture events or things that I normally don’t see each day. For example, my first picture featured a Public Health vehicle stationed outside DePaul. Because I don’t always get out of class at the same time every day, it leads to more possibilities of seeing new things.

  5. Chelsea
    February 2, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    http://chelseakiddedie.posterous.com/

    Here is my mobile blog! I am constantly trying new restaurants in Chicago, as well as revisiting old favorites, and this is a way for me to share my delicious experiences with others.

  6. Joanna Wesoly
    February 6, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Here is my mobile blog!! I work at Starbucks, which is usually a favorite of most college students…(except mine because i hate coffee!!) And though we all try to make the perfect drink for every customer, we tend to make more messes instead. I decided to capture the biggest messes we make for everyone to see!

  7. February 7, 2011 at 9:49 am

    http://regancrisp.posterous.com/

    Here is my blog, I’m calling it ‘Detours’, and it’s going to be a photo blog (with captions) of off-the-beaten-path sites around Chicago. I take a lot of short cuts and detours as I travel around the city if I think I’ll find something interesting by doing so. Usually I do.

    Haven’t uploaded anything yet, will later today.

  8. Aloysius Nelson
    February 10, 2011 at 7:53 am

    The link to my posterous is http://aloysiusnelson-levg1.posterous.com/
    This site basically displays photos of different sneakers that interest me. The running subject in each post is “The Wonderful World of Kicks” and this pretty much describes what will be on the site. I’ll be posting photos of various sneakers on this site and also be doing some creative things in the display of the sneakers taken in the photos.

  9. February 13, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    http://pjrules.posterous.com/
    Well my blog is about photojournalism. I guess things that I would shoot with my 5d markii but instead with my phone. (though I am still working on figuring out how to connect my camera and phone together.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

