Home > Assignments > Paper Prototyping assignment FOR NEXT WEEK

Paper Prototyping assignment FOR NEXT WEEK

So this week you’re going to be building paper prototypes of your idea (as individuals, NOT as a group). You need to test that prototype at least TWICE with a real user of your application.

This test should help you to refine your prototype and force you to fill in gaps in the UI and the workflow. Between your tests and bringing your prototype in next week, you should refine it based on the feedback your got from your tests. Here’s what else needs to happen:

You need to test your paper prototypes at least twice. Make refinements between the testing process (and during!). Document these testing sessions:

300 words on the testing and the idea:
What did you set out to test (i.e. what is your thing?)
What did each test reveal?
What did you change after each test?

Photo documentation (upload to Flickr) or EVEN BETTER: video, uploaded to YouTube.

Include links to your documentation and the report itself in the comments of this post.

And bring in your paper prototype for further testing in class next week.

Categories: Assignments
  1. April 12, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    My application has eight different menu options. “Now Playing”, “Archives”, “Schedule”, and “Downloads” are the first four in the menu dock. The Now Playing interface has a simple play, pause, and download option, but scrolling to the left brought another screen that still had the audio playing, but a picture and video clip as well as a story to supplement the audio. Archives brought a list of old episodes that users could listen to whenever they wanted, and downloads allowed users to save particular stories that interested them. The schedule is self explanatory, but lets users see more information about what’s playing now and what is coming up.

    The next set of options was “Settings”, “Radio Tuner”, “Twitter”, and “Official Site”. The settings option is at a bare minimum right now, with only font size and allow in background being the only major issues I could think of. The radio tuner is sort of a gag feature, allowing users to tune into other stations by using the dial on the screen. The official site brought users to a mobile version of the site, while Twitter brought up the official Twitter feed. While the “Login to Twitter” option included the keyboard and prompt that popped up, the “Follow” button should have been able to change to say “Following”.

    The first test went fairly well. My main goal for the first test was to just make sure that all the features I had were functional and that each button had a corresponding menu. However, the big thing I noticed was my fear that most users ignore the first popup menu that appears. My first tester, Theo, simply hit the “okay” button, and forgot that the dots that appeared on the screen meant that you could scroll to the left or right for more features.

    For the second test, one of the things I changed was labeling the bottom of the pages, just to make the transitions smoother. I also added another page so that when the archive option was selected, users would be taken to an archived story and not just the default start-up screen. My second tester, Jen, still had the same difficulty as Theo, however. The small dots on the menu dock and the Now Playing screen were still too subtle, despite the menu that popped up in the beginning. The feedback I received from both of them was that there needed to be a better way to make the scrolling options more obvious. I am debating on just having text that says “scroll for more options”, but I feel that would be tacky. Other than that, the user interface seems to be smooth and easy to navigate.

    Here are a few pictures during the testing:

  2. Eric Witt
    April 13, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    http://goodvibestoday.posterous.com/ I put my picture directly onto my posterous. The following is my testing process:

    The app I made was an attempt at making something sleek and simple. I also used some general formatting ideas from other apps that already exist. I tried applying what each of our groups put down on the board, though much of it touched on some of the same ideas.

    When I tested my app with a few friends, I got positive feedback. A few people brought up small problems or potential problems. My first tester has had actual experience making apps and his first impression of my prototype was positive. His criticism was to map out the “forum” section of my app more specifically.

    My second tester, who had less experience using smart phones in general, also pointed out that I could use a search bar under the “photo” section so people could easily search through a database of photo’s, as opposed to scrolling through a giant archive of them. I added a search bar for that, as well as an “info” button that will be available for any picture and would access a database WV has for the picture and its subject.

    My third tester was someone who I could see potentially using this app on a regular basis because of his frequent news consumption. He suggested that the help button under option be put into the main screen and also suggested the addition of the main page search bar. Though I disagreed with the help button idea, the search bar was a great addition. Also, I added thought that it would be useful if one could pull the “top news” bar to the top of the screen and it would change the general search bar into a “top news” search bar.

  3. April 13, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    The app I set out to create consists of a list of recent broadcasts. When a broadcast is chosen the app gives the user 4 choices: read the description, read the transcript, listen to the full broadcast or listen to a 5 minute highlight. The most important part of this app is inside the full broadcast in which users have a choice of viewing a transcript that scrolls in time with the interview or watching a sideshow of images corresponding to what the interview is discussing. It was important for me to ad a visual element to radio in the making of this app.

    In my first test I realized that some of my wording was off. I had used the word ‘favorites’ to describe the most popular in-app broadcasts and my test subject expressed to me that favorites are something you choose. We decided that this section would now be called ‘most viewed’. We also decided to add a headphones icon to all tabs that include voice options and re-arange the options of how you want to interact with the broadcast in order of most intense. They now read as follows: description, 5 minute highlight, full broadcast, transcript. The last amendment that was made in my first test was to include the word ‘interactive’ over the options of transcript and slideshow in the audio broadcasting sections so the user realizes they are not leaving this audio when they click on this.

    In my second testing only minor changes were made: I added a symbol of a book next to the transcript option. I received positive feedback about the ability to change the font size and the sideshow component of the broadcast.

    here are my photos:

  4. Regan Crisp
    April 13, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    In the Mobile App I designed for Worldview, I wanted to emphasize the Worldview brand (while not losing site of the WBEZ brand) and I wanted provide a simple way to hear recent and older Worldview shows, as well as get information and images not available on the radio.

    I created a Worldview logo for the purpose of highlighting the show as a brand. My loading screen is that logo underneath the WBEZ logo.

    There are six menu options, four visible on the home screen, two which can be scrolled too by moving the menu bar. They are Recent, All Shows, Live, Photos, About and Favorite. Each screen displays a top menu bar with the WBEZ logo on the left side as a button (which returns to the home screen) and the date on the far right side. In the middle it says Worldview, if it is at the homepage, or the menu item (Live, Favorites) depending.

    The sections are most self-explanatory, although Recent, according to my tests, should probably say something like ‘newst’ (Like the This American Life app does) or ‘Featured’ because it wasn’t clear that it is the most recent shows.

    All shows is an archive of all past shows which is simple and easy to navigate, and with a search function that would ideally pick up on search terms/tags as well as the names of guest, dates, headlines.

    Live is a live feed with a clock counting down to the next edition of Worldview, along with the guest’s name, and a summary of the discussion. The show will play in live feed when it plays on air.

    Photos is one of the ideas we had in our group brainstormin session last week. I had positive feedback during the tests, too. People want to see more multimedia with audio, and these would provide photogalleries, organized by date and location, which would take the listener to the country of that episode’s focus. They could have been taken by the person be interviewed, NPR corresponants, wire services, or from creativecommons.

    About is a summary of Worldview, the host, the history, the mission statement.

    Favorite is a list of shows you have ‘starred’ while using the app, that you can return to and listen to.

    I had pretty good feedback. I realized that I wanted to keep the section names as clear as possible, and needed to cahange ‘recent’. I had positive response to the Chicago/Global theme displayed in images. (Chicago flag for ‘All Shows’ section, and the Worldview logo, present throughout and on ‘About’ section.

    Pictures here : http://www.flickr.com/photos/28807876@N02/sets/72157626369574767/

  5. April 14, 2011 at 6:19 am

    My prototype was about applying maps to make the world news seem more local and also to make the app adaptable to on the go users. So many times people aren’t using the radio because they are not near one. Even cell phones only give you fm radio. Basically my app emerged broadcast along with live feeds so that one could take this radio station everywhere with them.

    Social media is so important to people too so I created an adaptaion on my app that will allow people to “tweet” or stream their information. I want this not to only be a local tool for people in Chicago but for people around the world. With this adaptation, people who live in China could instantly from their phones stream the news and send it to this app. Also it will be a great source for Journalist to know because this could be a tool to navigate and tottally concentrate on international news and have video and pictures to back it up.

    My first test was very informative basically because I was not trying to do all the steps it needed in order to go smoothly. (forgot to videotape sorry.) My second test went a lot smoother. Every link began to make sense. It had the option keys for people to be able to navigate the app a lot smoother. All-in-all I believe that the test wents smoothly and I am kind of proud of the app I have created.

  6. Joanna Wesoly
    April 14, 2011 at 7:42 am

    The app I created was aimed to be easy to navigate and simple in style. On the main screen is a picture of the world and a play button. One the user presses the play button, the current episode of ‘World View’ plays on screen. When the picture of the world is pressed, the main menu then pops up.

    There are four options in the main menu. They include, search for protests, download podcasts, call and text. The first option, search for protests, has the most information. Once that button is pressed, a screen pops up that has a list of all the countries that have protests going on. The user can then press any of these countries and another screen will pop up that will have the most current information about it. This information will include a live twitter feed, the most recent news, videos and blogs. When Download Podcasts is pressed, a screen will pop up with the most recent episodes played that the user can download. There will be a place the user can scroll down and find more, but the current and most recent will be on top. When the Call button is pressed, the phone will automatically call the radio station so the user can make comments to the program. When the text button is pressed, a screen will pop up where the user can subscribe to text alerts and get links on the most recent news to protests.

    When I tested this the first time, I realized I made one big mistake. I didn’t have any buttons that would lead the user to both the main menu and the previous screen. After that test, I added those buttons in on the necessary screens.

    After I did the test again, it went more smoothly. The only thing missing is a live twitter feed and the most recent news popping up on the screen where the user can find information on the protests they want.

  7. Chelsea
    April 14, 2011 at 8:04 am

    My app for World View is an app that allows you not just to listen to the World View program, but a way for you to customize and interact with the show as well. The application is broken into three main parts; Preview, Your view, and 360 View. Preview allows the listener to listen to a clip of the story, read a summary, and view a map of where the story is taking place. Your view is a place where the user can link the app to their social networks and also the place where the users playlist is. The playlist is a place where users can store stories for later listening. 360view is the final section of the application. This is a place where the user can search for stories by location and view a world map. There is also a listen button on the homepage that will play the most recent story in full for the listener.
    Testing went smoothly for the most part in terms of getting the user from the homepage to the other parts of the app. I can tell I am missing some links for navigating within the different sections, which I think I smoothed out with the second testing. The part I noticed it most was within the playlist. The hardest thing to figure out is not the individual screens but the set up screens and the small ways people navigate within the app.

    http://www.youtube.com/user/chelseakiddedie?feature=mhum

    http://www.youtube.com/user/chelseakiddedie?feature=mhum#p/a/u/1/Yq5HFE7n5vk

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

